Name That Element!

Name That Element

It’s nice to know that a PhD in science is good for something .. what was your score?

About GrrlScientist

grrlscientist is the pseudonym of an evolutionary biologist and ornithologist who writes about evolution, ethology, and ecology, especially in birds. After earning a degree in microbiology (thesis focus: virology) and working at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, she earned her PhD in zoology from the University of Washington in Seattle, where she studied the molecular correlates of testosterone and behaviour in white-crowned sparrows. She then worked a Chapman Postdoctoral Fellow at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City, where she studied the speciation and distribution of lories and other parrots throughout the South Pacific Islands. A discarded scientist, she returned to her roots: writing. Formerly hosted by The Guardian (UK), she now writes about science for Forbes and for the non-profit think tank, the Evolution Institute and she writes podcasts for BirdNote Radio. An avid lifelong birder and aviculturist, she lives with a flock of songbirds and parrots somewhere in Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Name That Element!

  1. Bob O'H says:

    Only 87%. Sb threw me, as I couldn’t find blogerium on the list.

  2. heh. that was my first thought when i saw that, too!

  3. 6EQUJ5 says:

    Does everyone get the same test? I knew a little of the history of names, so I wasn’t thrown by kalium, stibnium, stannum, ferrum, or aurum.

  4. Trin Tragula says:

    Elements by Tom Lehrer

  5. Jérôme ^ says:

    And when you are a native Romance language-speaker, it’s even easier 😉
    I’m wondering though, about the color quiz (on same page). Is there a preferred region in the RGB cube for errors? (And by the way, how are the named colors distributed in the RGB cube?)

  6. CyberLizard says:

    Wow, 80%! I’m quite shocked at my recollection of high school chemistry class. I thought I had filled all that space up with various computer languages and sci-fi trivia.

  7. dr. pablito says:

    100%. That wasn’t even tough. It does seem everyone gets the same test. They didn’t try to throw any curveballs: Au vs. Ag, As vs. At, Tl vs. Tm. Heh.

  8. guthrie says:

    100%, they should have included some of the more unusual ones like Cs or Rh.
    Of course, 4 years of compiling monthly ICP analytical data and some GDMS data, into usable tables, tends to mean I can do them in my sleep.

  9. Rick says:

    93% but I have been out of science for 10 years and only have a MS and an ABD

  10. I got 100% and all I have is high school chemistry. I had to guess at Sb which wasn’t hard since I knew all the other possible answers. Did I earn a science nerd badge that I can wear with pride?

  11. Alex Besogonov says:

    Romeo:
    Only is you also remember atomic weights, electronegativity and possible oxidation states of these elements 🙂

  12. Nigel says:

    100% easy. (Doesn’t everyone know Sb is antimony and Sn is tin?)
    I do have a batchelor’s in biochemistry, but that was 35 years ago, and I have not used my chemistry since.
    Actually there is a much better, harder elements test at http://www.freerice.com/index.php?&t=34116054560&s=Chemical%20Symbols, and when you are doing that one you are donating to charity rather than getting advertising for a dating site.

  13. BobbyEarle says:

    80%, which is not too bad for me.
    But I managed 100% on the soda test. I don’t know what this might mean, and I don’t think I want to know.

  14. 93%. But then I haven’t done any chemistry in over 9 years (since I finished my A-Levels).
    Hang on a second, It’s 9 years since I finished my A-Levels? Fuck I’m old!

  15. Jeff Knapp says:

    80%. And I don’t have any sort of science degree. Just a computer graphics nerd who loves science.