The Morning After


Times Square celebrates Barack Obama’s presidential victory.
Image: GrrlScientist, 4 November 2008 [larger view].

Well, it’s nice to be noticed, and I was noticed today, by Seed Magazine (online).


I know this doesn’t sound like much since Seed should notice those who write for ScienceBlogs due to our close affiliation, but I am rarely noticed by anyone (including Seed) for any reason and worse, because my moods have been causing me tremendous anxiety and grief recently, I have felt absolutely invisible.
Recently, my mood had deteriorated to the point where it was nearly impossible for me to deal with anything so I ended up spending two days hiding in my apartment. But despite that, I was determined to visit Times Square to experience the Obama election returns, at least until the state of Washington’s polls closed and I learned whether they had voted for Obama (I don’t have a TV, so the only way to experience this was in real life). It took me hours (and a xanax) to gather up the courage to leave my apartment, but I finally did it, and I took a few hundred images while in Times Square, several of which I published on my blog. I didn’t think any of the images were especially good (I still don’t) but Seed magazine liked one well enough to use it in a story they published today.

About GrrlScientist

grrlscientist is the pseudonym of an evolutionary biologist and ornithologist who writes about evolution, ethology, and ecology, especially in birds. After earning a degree in microbiology (thesis focus: virology) and working at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, she earned her PhD in zoology from the University of Washington in Seattle, where she studied the molecular correlates of testosterone and behaviour in white-crowned sparrows. She then worked a Chapman Postdoctoral Fellow at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City, where she studied the speciation and distribution of lories and other parrots throughout the South Pacific Islands. A discarded scientist, she returned to her roots: writing. Formerly hosted by The Guardian (UK), she now writes about science for Forbes and for the non-profit think tank, the Evolution Institute and she writes podcasts for BirdNote Radio. An avid lifelong birder and aviculturist, she lives with a flock of songbirds and parrots somewhere in Germany.
This entry was posted in My Pictures, NYC life. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to The Morning After

  1. flo says:

    grats on your photo being used by seed.
    Strangely I kinda can relate to your feelings (i think)
    about the not having a tv: ofc it’s always better to get out and have fun there, but you could have watched one of the livestreams on your computer … just saying. I manage 3 different live streams at the same time here, although then my screen admittedly was full.