Seattle Visit: The Ballard Farmer's Market, Part Two

tags: , , , ,


Dahlias.
Ballard Farmer’s Market, Seattle, Washington.
Image: GrrlScientist 26 September 2008 [larger view].

When I was in Seattle, I met a couple friends and went to the Ballard Farmer’s Market, which is much much larger than when I last lived in Seattle. This is the second and last part of my photoessay of the Ballard Farmer’s Market. In part one, I showed you fresh produce, and in part two, I will show you flowers and soaps.


These flowers, which captivated me with their delicacy, pale purple color, and roundness, are either elephant garlic or onion flowers;


Flowers
Ballard Farmer’s Market, Seattle, Washington.
Image: GrrlScientist 26 September 2008 [larger view].

Okay, I know you can’t eat flowers (well, most of them, anyway), but I still enjoy them. Flowers are one of my favorite photographic subjects because they are colorful, have a lot of interesting angles and textures, and they move more slowly than do birds (another favorite photographic subject of mine);


Flowers.
Ballard Farmer’s Market, Seattle, Washington.
Image: GrrlScientist 26 September 2008 [larger view].

I spared you from looking at ALL my flower images, although I might show you more at some time in the future, like during the winter when I am snowed in.
I also loved these organic handmade soaps. I probably should have purchased some, but instead, I just photographed them (and sniffed them, of course);


Organic handmade soaps.
Ballard Farmer’s Market, Seattle, Washington.
Image: GrrlScientist 26 September 2008 [larger view].

These handmade soaps had a generous dusting of cocoa on them, so they smelled delightfully edible;


Handmade soaps dusted with cocoa.
Ballard Farmer’s Market, Seattle, Washington.
Image: GrrlScientist 26 September 2008 [larger view].

I could have spent the entire day at the Ballard Farmer’s Market, photographing the autumn harvest, but Shannon lured me away with the promise of a wine tasting. Free. Wine. Well! I couldn’t turn that down, so off I went. That photoessay will appear tomorrow.

About GrrlScientist

grrlscientist is the pseudonym of an evolutionary biologist and ornithologist who writes about evolution, ethology, and ecology, especially in birds. After earning a degree in microbiology (thesis focus: virology) and working at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, she earned her PhD in zoology from the University of Washington in Seattle, where she studied the molecular correlates of testosterone and behaviour in white-crowned sparrows. She then worked a Chapman Postdoctoral Fellow at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City, where she studied the speciation and distribution of lories and other parrots throughout the South Pacific Islands. A discarded scientist, she returned to her roots: writing. Formerly hosted by The Guardian (UK), she now writes about science for Forbes and for the non-profit think tank, the Evolution Institute and she writes podcasts for BirdNote Radio. An avid lifelong birder and aviculturist, she lives with a flock of songbirds and parrots somewhere in Germany.
This entry was posted in Seattle, Washington and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Seattle Visit: The Ballard Farmer's Market, Part Two

  1. TAbor says:

    I have been a little lax about visiting your blog and the last time I was here you were blogging about your trip to England! Now you are in Seattle? Ah well, it is hard for us old folks to keep up. I have been to Ballard market and just loved the place.

  2. after noticing that i was in london, my friends in seattle wanted me to visit very badly and i of course, love my friends and seattle both, so how could i resist? especially since they paid for my airfare, which i cannot even begin to afford at this time of my life.
    not only that, but i will be visiting a friend in Finland next month! and of course, i will be sharing images and adventures from that trip as well.

  3. folk says:

    Natural Handmade soaps are bliss in otherwise polluted life. I have been using Lass Cosmetics – Radianta – Almond & saffron goat milk soap with almonds since last 6 months and I must tell you all that it has brighten my skin tone and radiance. Give it a try! These guys have so many other soaps … & they are all natural and handmade!!!