West 66th/Lincoln Center Subway Art 34

tags: , , , , ,


Artemis, Acrobats, Divas and Dancers.
Artist: Nancy Spero, 1999. Installed 2004.
West 66th Street/Lincoln Center Subway tile mosaic art #34
as seen at NYC’s Lincoln Center stop at Broadway for the uptown (northbound) 1 train.
Image: GrrlScientist 2008 [larger view].

Glass mosaic murals depicting scenes of theater, dance, and orchestra-related subjects are scattered throughout this station.


I have photographed tile artworks from several NYC subway stations now, so far, all are westside Manhattan subway lines, including the West 34th Street/Pennsylvania Station (A, C & E trains), Chambers Street (A & C trains), Houston Street (1 train), Pennsylvania “Penn” station (1, 2 & 3 trains) [subway art archives] and, my favorite subway station of all, the American Museum of Natural History station at 81st and Central Park West (B & C trains) [AMNH archives].

About GrrlScientist

grrlscientist is the pseudonym of an evolutionary biologist and ornithologist who writes about evolution, ethology, and ecology, especially in birds.
This entry was posted in My Pictures, NYC life, NYC Subway Art, NYC Through My Eye and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to West 66th/Lincoln Center Subway Art 34

  1. Mudslide says:

    I’ve been watching you post these for a little while now, waiting for this one! The one by AMNH may be more beautiful, but this is my favorite. It was my station when I lived in NYC, and the first one I noticed to have a usually-working elevator. Thanks!