Some of my ScienceBlog Colleagues 2008 OOPS!


Some of my ScienceBlog colleagues in NYC 2008.
Okay, a reader commented on this image, so I had to leave this here, but one of my colleagues who doesn’t want to be revealed to the public was caught in the picture. So here’s something different to look at — one of my favorite pictures, that I have never found an excuse to use.
About GrrlScientist

grrlscientist is the pseudonym of an evolutionary biologist and ornithologist who writes about evolution, ethology, and ecology, especially in birds. After earning a degree in microbiology (thesis focus: virology) and working at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, she earned her PhD in zoology from the University of Washington in Seattle, where she studied the molecular correlates of testosterone and behaviour in white-crowned sparrows. She then worked a Chapman Postdoctoral Fellow at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City, where she studied the speciation and distribution of lories and other parrots throughout the South Pacific Islands. A discarded scientist, she returned to her roots: writing. Formerly hosted by The Guardian (UK), she now writes about science for Forbes and for the non-profit think tank, the Evolution Institute and she writes podcasts for BirdNote Radio. An avid lifelong birder and aviculturist, she lives with a flock of songbirds and parrots somewhere in Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Some of my ScienceBlog Colleagues 2008 OOPS!

  1. EyeNoU says:

    Is that you in the front row? Would it be possible to get names to go with the faces?

  2. That is WAY better than any ScienceBlogger photo!
    Great to see you and finally meet you!

  3. biosparite says:

    That’s got to be a Russian hamster invading Georgia, right? Kudos for your up-to-the-minute news coverage.

  4. Could you not have simply blurred or otherwise distorted the face of the colleague in question in order to protect their identity?
    For example in this photo of myself I recently posted on the richarddawkins forums…
    http://i178.photobucket.com/albums/w272/HorwoodBeerMaster/HorwoodBeerHuman-1.jpg
    …I’ve blurred out the face of my brother-in-law standing behind me (as I didn’t want to post his face on the internet without his permission), using the picture editing feature on photobucket. Does flickr have something similar you could use?
    Not that I’m dissing the armed rodent in any way (would I dare – it’s armed!)