London Update: One Month Away!

Hey, do you all know what day today is? Today is one month before I will be standing in London England. That’s right, one month from this very moment, after having spent the previous night on a redeye from NYC, I will be hanging around with my NATURE blog colleagues and exploring London pubs with a science-y theme (we could still use some pub suggestions!)
[Click the icon above to learn more and to register online to attend the conference free!]


I am very excited. In fact, I am so excited, I could scream! I am already working on plans for things to see and do [tentative schedule], relying on suggestions that you all have provided, and also relying on tagging along with my fellow blog writing colleagues who will be in London for the conference.
I am bringing a digital camera and my laptop and plan to post images of London to my blog while I am there, and I plan to write about the people I meet and the experiences I have while there, too. Hopefully, I will have access to lots of free wifi so I can post “live” to my blog frequently while I am there.

About GrrlScientist

grrlscientist is the pseudonym of an evolutionary biologist and ornithologist who writes about evolution, ethology, and ecology, especially in birds. After earning a degree in microbiology (thesis focus: virology) and working at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, she earned her PhD in zoology from the University of Washington in Seattle, where she studied the molecular correlates of testosterone and behaviour in white-crowned sparrows. She then worked a Chapman Postdoctoral Fellow at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City, where she studied the speciation and distribution of lories and other parrots throughout the South Pacific Islands. A discarded scientist, she returned to her roots: writing. Formerly hosted by The Guardian (UK), she now writes about science for Forbes and for the non-profit think tank, the Evolution Institute and she writes podcasts for BirdNote Radio. An avid lifelong birder and aviculturist, she lives with a flock of songbirds and parrots somewhere in Germany.
This entry was posted in London, England. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to London Update: One Month Away!

  1. Bob O'H says:

    I’m looking forward to it too. I should sort out my tickets, though.

  2. Tabor says:

    Congratulations and have fun. With the passion you have for your science, I know that this trip means more to you than it does to many who are going to this conference.

  3. i am still sorting things myself, and i am now seriously working on a schedule of fun things to see and do while i am there. and i would love to see the NATURE offices, too!

  4. Bob O'H says:

    I think they were talking about starting the Friday tour at the Nature offices. If not, we should be able to talk them into arranging a tour – they seem quite keen on showing people round.

  5. Yttrai says:

    Ooooooh,what a great trip!
    I’ll be at Gencon in 2 weeks. That’s ALMOST as exciting 😉

  6. You are going to my favourite city on the planet! I believe there is free wifi in Victoria station. Set in the seats near the Thistle door.
    If cost is a concern..two words: TRAVEL INN
    Dan

  7. Anna says:

    It’s going to be a wonderful weekend! Very much looking forward to meeting you!
    You reminded me… I need to start thinking about what I want to say during our session. Eek.