Mama and Papa Bank Rock: Behind the Green Mesh (Part 2)

tags: , , , ,


Mama and Papa Bank Rock: Behind the Green Mesh.
Image: Bob Levy, author of Club George [larger].


The photographer, Bob Levy, writes;
I returned to the park two days later. It was raining lightly but steadily so my camera was tucked inside its case. The light was poor for both photography and bird-watching but from about fifteen feet away I saw evidence that Mama Bank Rock had indeed returned to her nest. A gleaming white object was tucked behind the fence where the Northern Cardinal and I had last met. There was no doubt in mind that Mama Bank Rock had placed it there. Through binoculars I saw the nest was unattended so I went in for a close look. The white object was a piece of plastic. More pieces circled the twiggy frame. Mama Bank Rock had obviously been hard at work. I took out my camera and hurriedly snapped a few pictures lest the cardinal return to find me invading her space once again. The image I chose to show you won’t win any photography awards but it is the evidence I sought to support my theory that Mama Bank Rock thought, assumed, felt or, if you prefer, believed that the green mesh was adequate camouflage for the job she had at hand. Or should I say the job she had at beak? Yes I think I will.

About GrrlScientist

grrlscientist is the pseudonym of an evolutionary biologist and ornithologist who writes about evolution, ethology, and ecology, especially in birds. After earning a degree in microbiology (thesis focus: virology) and working at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, she earned her PhD in zoology from the University of Washington in Seattle, where she studied the molecular correlates of testosterone and behaviour in white-crowned sparrows. She then worked a Chapman Postdoctoral Fellow at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City, where she studied the speciation and distribution of lories and other parrots throughout the South Pacific Islands. A discarded scientist, she returned to her roots: writing. Formerly hosted by The Guardian (UK), she now writes about science for Forbes and for the non-profit think tank, the Evolution Institute and she writes podcasts for BirdNote Radio. An avid lifelong birder and aviculturist, she lives with a flock of songbirds and parrots somewhere in Germany.
This entry was posted in Image of the Day, NYC life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.