Free Avian Anatomy Handbook

tags: , , , ,

I know several of my overseas readers have wanted a free PDF of Julian Baumel’s celebrated Handbook of Avian Anatomy: Nomina Anatomica Avium, 2nd Edition, published in 1993 by the Nuttal Ornithological Club, but I have been unable to email it to you due to its large size (400 pages; 49MB). Thanks to the suggestion of one of my readers, I uploaded a copy of this PDF to RapidShare, which hosts large files of up to 100 MB. Now, you can download this PDF to your computer — but the file must be downloaded at least once every 90 days, or RapidShare will delete it. [scanned Baumel Avian Anatomy PDF 49MB]. So share this link with your colleagues and friends, so they also will download it, and thereby preserve the file on RapidShare for the general community to access.

About GrrlScientist

grrlscientist is the pseudonym of an evolutionary biologist and ornithologist who writes about evolution, ethology, and ecology, especially in birds.
This entry was posted in Ornithology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Free Avian Anatomy Handbook

  1. Will says:

    I’m sorry that the reader who suggested rapidshit to you is not very…learned. The new captcha system used by rapidshare deters not only bots from downloading, but humans as well.
    A better suggestion is bittorrent.

  2. mus says:

    There are TONS of file hosting sites. I personally like Megaupload though. The counter thing so that you can download it is faster, you can download more than one big file in a row (in rapidshare you have to wait more than an hour between large downloads), and I THINK you can upload bigger files than in rapidshare. Oh, and the word verification is easy.

  3. Mus says:

    Oh, and thanks a lot for the book!!! It’s still downloading, but I’m sure I’ll enjoy it 🙂

  4. J Pat Valentik says:

    This is great, I had no problem with the download once I clicked through three pages. This book is the Gray’s Anatomy for birds. Just thumbing through it generates a bunch of interesting questions and a few aha! answers. So that’s how they do it.

  5. Kelly Tucker says:

    Thank you, Devorah. Great resource.

  6. Lau says:

    Thank you for scanning the book and uploading it, I really appreciate it, have a great day!!!