What Am I Doing With This Blog?

Honestly, I don’t know for sure. I am developing my plans “on the fly.” Currently, I have all my domain names pointing here, which might confuse you since I am using this blog as a “content dump” (such an inelegant term) as well as a mirror for my several blogs while I search for a new home. I am trying to figure out how to import my (rather large) ScienceBlogs site, along with reader comments and images and whatnot. I do not anticipate making wp my permanent home because it’s rather unimpressive and awkward to work with (and besides, I am so so lonely here!).

But I am interested to work on a blog platform that uses Word Press. From what I am experiencing so far, WP is far more tractable when it comes to moving a blog than is MT4, although blogger seems easiest of all when it comes to exporting/importing a blog, comments and images … hm, maybe I should go back to blogger? Nah!

At this time, I plan to use Maniraptora as my online blog community. I already have many friends there and I enjoy the community, although I am really dismayed by the clunkyness of their completely unadorned MT4 platform.

I’ve sent email to Lou, the resident cat herder at NN, asking her what I can and cannot do with my blog there. But until I am told otherwise, I plan to post daily mystery birds there and the morning videos, as well as my science-y content and book reviews (I moved all of my unfinished essays there these past few days so i can finish them). I will try to sneak in some god-bashing videos on Sunday morning, but it’s possible that NN might tell me to stop doing that, too. We’ll just have to see. Regularly scheduled blog entries, such as the mystery birds, will be scheduled according to UK local time but will pop up at the same time as always in your part of the world. (I hope that makes sense.)

This is the homebase, collection point for all my online material and my technical experimental station, while Maniraptora is going to be (as closely as possible) my attempt to keep myself and my readers involved in a community of science blog writers.

About GrrlScientist

GrrlScientist is the blog pseudonym for an evolutionary biologist/ornithologist who writes about E3: Evolution, Ecology and Ethology, and the subtle relationships between these phenomena, especially in birds. She also is a proud member of that vast liberal conspiracy that your mother warned you about. Regardless of where she ends up in the world, GrrlScientist's main blog can always be accessed through any one of these five domain names: GrrlScientist.net, GrrlScientist.org, GrrlScientist.info, GrrlScientist.com, and GrrlScientist.us. GrrlScientist writes a second blog, Maniraptora, at Nature Network. Online interviews with GrrlScientist: Kolibri Expeditions, ScienceOnline09, Nature Blog Network and ScienceBlogs. More biographical information about GrrlScientist.
This entry was posted in the invisible scientist and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

